Handheld And Vehicle Radios

Hurls

Hi all,

It seems that the more groups I join, the more important it seems to be to stay in touch in the bush.

I know nothing about UHF/ VHF radios or what to get, I have never had one in my vehicle so need some advice.

I am not so much looking for the models or prices people have paid, just the features I should be looking for. Do you get UHF / VHF in one unit, if not, is one more common than the others. Does one have better range.

What’s the go while you are hunting generally? Do you use and headset with your handheld to stop the noise in the bush or do you generally just have check in times?

All Basic Questions I know but I have never hunted in groups and now I seem to be getting into it more

What else do I need to know.

Cheers People 

Mate Just to start with I am no expert on the subject but I'll do my best:

UHF (Ultra High Frequency) is what most characters poke around with, haven't seen many VHF if any mounted on vehicles. They normally require a longer antenna, as do most radios, generally the bigger the antenna the better the range you get out of it as long as it is the right length, that is, it is the same length as the wavelength being transmitted, or 1/4,1/2, 3/4 of it. I think with UHF antennas it is pretty much universal, but the bloke at the shop should be able to help you.

UHF is more or less "line of sight" in that you will get clear comms with another callsign as long as the air in a direct line between you and that callsign is free from obstruction.

If the are obstructions such as vegetation, buildings and terrain you will require more power to penetrate/get around them if at all possible. Most Vehicle radios work on 5Watts, most hand held UHF's work on 1Watt. It should be noted having the radio on a higher power setting will not help receive transmissions